Random thoughts on photography


I’m sometimes asked why I don’t have a “studio” where clients can visit to have their photos taken. There are several good reasons that make the photographic experience less costly, more convenient and more comfortable for my clients!

When I decided to re-enter the field of professional photography, I had several decisions to make.  One was, what type of photography did I want to pursue this time?  Did I want to focus on stock photography or perhaps landscapes, or continue creating images of people, animals and special events?  I decided I really enjoyed working with people to create something special that they and their loved ones would enjoy for years to come.

Earlier in my photographic career, I worked with a special person in the school photography business.  He taught me how to set up a portable “studio” in a school to create wonderful images with great lighting techniques and a positive personality behind the camera.

So that’s why I decided to go with a portable studio.  With a portable power supply, I can create images outdoors or in a client’s home, where they, their family members and their pets can feel more comfortable. My clients also have an unlimited amount of clothing options and familiar props at their disposal.  And, of course, I can set up my equipment in my own home if the client wants to come to my “studio”.

I believe the versatility and convenience, combined with a lower overhead that I can pass on to my clientele, make a portable studio much preferable over a bricks and mortar studio in a fixed location.

Don’t forget to visit my website at http://www.JohnLueckPhotography.net  and I’d be pleased if you would visit my Facebook page (link on the right hand side of this page) and click “Like” if you are so inclined!

Stay focused, and I’ll see you on the other side of the lens.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

